Multi-party solidified in Tshwane with the election of the Coalition Management Team

Note to Editors: Please find the attached soundbite by Cllr Jacqui Uys, the recently elected Tshwane Caucus and Coalition Management Committee Chairperson.

The Tshwane coalition has formalised its commitment to providing services to residents by electing a Joint Caucus Management Team. Please find attached pictures here and here.

The election was held at the first multi-party coalition caucus on Monday the 17 January 2022, at Tshwane House, where councillors demonstrated their commitment to the historic Local Government Coalition Agreement entered into by the DA, FF Plus, Action SA, Cope, ACDP and IFP.

This meeting is one of the starting points in setting the tone for running a clean and stable administration in the Metro.

The following positions were elected unopposed to the Management Team of the Multi-Party Coalition:
· Chairperson — Cllr Jacqui Uys (DA)
· Deputy Chairperson — Cllr Mandla Mhlana (ActionSA)

The Joint Caucus has full confidence in the ability of this management team in carrying out the Local Government Coalition’s mandate of fostering a culture of accountability, transparency and good governance in the Metro.

The multi-party caucus also discussed the upcoming Council Agenda in depth. The Joint Caucus Management Committee has full confidence that all parties and councillors in this multi-party caucus are committed and ready for this very important first official Council meeting – which will follow the election of the Mayor, Speaker and Chief Whip.

The different party caucuses are led in the Joint Caucus by:
Randall Williams (DA)
Grandi Theunissen (FF Plus)
Abel Tau (ActionSA)
Ronald Morake (ACDP)
Murunwa Makwarela (COPE)
Ziyanda Zwane (IFP)