DA Gauteng Shadow Cabinet Portfolio Allocations

Shadow Cabinet

The DA in Gauteng has made slight amendments to its shadow cabinet to better serve the needs of the people of our province.

We believe that by doing so we aligned caucus members’ skills and competencies more closely with their portfolio requirements – so as to ensure that oversight over Premier David Makhura’s Cabinet is carried out in a more thorough and effective manner.


The Shadow Cabinet is as follows:

Caucus leader and Leader of the Official Opposition

John Moodey MPL


Arts, Culture, Sports and Recreation

Shadow MEC: Paul Willemburg MPL

Spokesperson: Kingsol Chabalala MPL


Community Safety and Security

Shadow MEC: Kate Lorimer MPL

Spokesperson: Michele Clarke MPL


Cooperative Governance, Traditional Affairs and Human Settlements

Shadow MEC: Fred Nel MPL

Spokesperson Housing: Mervyn Cirota MPL


Economic, Environment, Agriculture and Rural Development

Shadow MEC: Janet Semple MPL

Spokesperson – Agriculture: Ina Cilliers MPL

Spokesperson – Environment: Janho Engelbrecht MPL



Shadow MEC: Khume Ramulifho MPL

Spokesperson: Solly Msimanga MPL



Shadow MEC: Adriana Randall MPL

Spokesperson: Mike Moriarty MPL



Shadow MEC: Jack Bloom MPL

Spokesperson: Dr Neil Campbell MPL


Infrastructure Development

Shadow MEC: Alan Fuchs MPL

Spokesperson: Janho Engelbrecht MPL



Spokesperson: Ashor Sarupen MPL


Oversight Committee on the Premier’s Office and the Legislature

Spokesperson: John Moodey MPL

Spokesperson: Jack Bloom MPL


Public Accounts (Scopa)

Spokesperson: Glenda Steyn MPL

Spokesperson: Paul Willemburg MPL

Spokesperson: Graham Gersbach MPL


Roads and Transport

Shadow MEC: Dr Neil Campbell MPL

Spokesperson: Graham Gersbach MPL

Spokesperson: Justus de Goede MPL


Social Development

Shadow MEC: Refiloe Nt’sekhe MPL

Spokesperson: Ashor Sarupen MPL



Spokesperson: Lebo More MPL



Media enquiries:

John Moodey MPL

082 960 1743


Willie Venter

Director: Communications and Research

060 963 8260

Comments are closed.